Although it is never good news to hear about online
casino operators swindling players, it is always refreshing to know that
reputable online gaming regulators and governmental gambling commissions are
doing their job at keeping the cheats off of the internet street. Such was the
case with the highly esteemed Kahnawake Gaming Commission, who recently revoked
their online gaming license to WSC Management Inc. and locked their servers to
the BetWSC.com.
Based in Costa Rica, WSC Management formerly ran
the BetWSC.com online sportsbook, which was reportedly sold to an unidentified
company with now former track record in the online gambling industry.
Apparently, BetWSC.com had begun redirecting user's to another betting site
called Betting.imptek.com, although it now appears this redirect is no longer
set up, and that BetWSC.com is now off line. This, however, is not why WSC
Management's online gaming license was revoked.
The alleged owner of WSC, Marco de Pasquale, as
well as his twin brother, Matteo Rosario de Pasquale, were arrested by a
Canadian task force as part of a national police crackdown on organized criminal
activities in Montreal. Pasquale is under suspicion of conspiring with certain
individuals who are deeply connected with organized crime.
Until further developments regarding the criminal
charges, the license suspension will remain in effect. While it is feasible it
could be reinstated if Matteo is cleared, it looks as if BetWSC has already
called it quits.
Alan Goodleaf, from the Kahnawake Gaming
Commission, referred to the suspension as a "serious and extraordinary" matter
that warranted an immediate suspension. According to the regulations imposed on
all Kahnawake licensed online casinos and gaming sites, operators and owners
must have no illegal affiliations whatsoever - even if the gaming site itself is
a legitimate one (although it is likely it will truly not be "legitimate" if run
by associates of criminals).
In the meantime, members of BetWSC have reported
that
NETeller has paid out their winnings, while some members state they were
redirected to an unknown online betting site based in Costa Rica.